Bulldogs News


By: Hamilton Bulldogs
12/18/2012 10:20 PM -

Peoria, Illinois – The Peoria Rivermen defeated the Hamilton Bulldogs 4-3 in a shootout at Carver Arena on Tuesday night.  Stefan Chaput scored two goals for the ‘Dogs but it was not enough as Derek Nesbitt scored two for the Rivermen and T.J. Hensick netted the winner in the shootout.

The Bulldogs opened the scoring at 12:04 of the opening frame on a goal by Chaput, his first as a ‘Dog.  Nathan Beaulieu slapped a shot along the ice from the left point and Chaput redirected the puck past Peoria Rivermen starting goaltender Jake Allen.

The Rivermen tied the score on a power-play tally by Nesbitt at 17:16 of the first period.  Nesbitt took a big slapper from the slot and the puck made its way behind Hamilton Bulldogs starting goaltender Robert Mayer and into the back of the net.

Peoria took the lead at 1:36 of the third stanza on a goal by Scott Ford who rifled a shot from the point which beat Mayer.  The Rivermen doubled their lead at 3:38 of the third frame on Nesbitt’s second goal of the game.  Mark Cundari wristed a shot from the left point and Nesbitt deflected the puck off of the far post and in behind Mayer.

Hamilton cut the lead to 3-2 on a marker by Brendan Gallagher at 4:53 of the third period.   After Patrick Holland put the puck on net, Gallagher gobbled up the rebound in front and buried it by Allen.  The Bulldogs then tied the score at 10:52 of the third on Chaput’s second tally of the night.  Chaput leaned into a shot and ripped it by Allen off of the far post and in the net.

After a scoreless overtime, the Rivermen won the shootout 2-1 as T.J. Hensick netted the winner giving Peoria a 4-3 win over Hamilton. 

The Bulldogs’ next game is against the St. John's IceCaps at Copps Coliseum on Friday, December 21st at 7:30 p.m.  The game will air on TVA Sports and Sportsnet.  All ‘Dogs games during the month of December will be broadcast on Hamilton's Funny 820 (AM 820), with select games simulcast on Montreal's TSN Radio 690 (AM 690).  Fans can also listen to and watch all 'Dogs games on www.hamiltonbulldogs.com.  Live coverage with the broadcast team of Play-By-Play Announcer Derek Wills (all home and away games) and Colour Commentator Al Craig (all home and select away games) will begin with the Pioneer Pre-Game Show 30 minutes prior to the scheduled start time.

2012-2013 Hamilton Bulldogs season tickets, Pioneer Flex Pack tickets, group tickets and single-game tickets are on sale now! For as little as $10 per game, you can enjoy the many benefits of being a ‘Dogs season ticket holder including reserved seating for all home games at Copps Coliseum, the option to redeem unused tickets for any regular season game, discounts on team merchandise and access to exclusive season ticket holder-only events with the team. Convenient payment plans are available. For more information on how to join our team by becoming a Hamilton Bulldogs season ticket holder, or for more information on Pioneer Flex Pack tickets or group tickets, call 905-529-8500 or 1-866-DOGS-TIX, e-mail ticketing@hamiltonbulldogs.com or visit www.hamiltonbulldogs.com.  ‘Dogs single-game tickets are available at the Copps Coliseum Box Office, any Ticketmaster Outlet, online at www.ticketmaster.ca, or by calling 905-529-8500 or 1-866-DOGS-TIX.

***THE HAMILTON BULLDOGS 2012-2013 SEASON IS PRESENTED BY THE FANZ CHOICE*** http://bulldogs.thefanzchoice.com/

Visit the official website of the Hamilton Bulldogs at
Become a fan of the ‘Dogs on Facebook at www.facebook.com/hamiltonbulldogs
Follow the team on Twitter at www.twitter.com/bulldogsahl and www.twitter.com/dogsplaybyplay


Scoring Summary:

1st Period:
1. HAM – Stefan Chaput – 1 – (Nathan Beaulieu) – 12:04
2. PEO – Derek Nesbitt – 9 – (T.J. Hensick, Adam Cracknell) – 17:16 (PP)  

2nd Period:
No Scoring

3rd period:
3. PEO – Scott Ford – 1 –  (Mark Cundari, Jaden Schwartz) – 1:36
4. PEO – Derek Nesbitt – 10 – (Mark Cundari, Scott Ford) – 3:38
5. HAM – Brendan Gallagher – 8 – (Patrick Holland, Frederic St-Denis) – 4:53
6. HAM – Stefan Chaput – 2 – (Michael Bournival, Jarred Tinordi) – 10:52

No Scoring

Peoria                                                   Hamilton
Phil McRae                     No Goal             Stefan Chaput                No Goal
Derek Nesbitt                Goal                  Brendan Gallagher         Goal
Jaden Schwartz              No Goal             Gabriel Dumont              No Goal
T.J. Hensick                   Goal                  Michael Bournival           No Goal
Adam Cracknell              No Goal             Patrick Holland               No Goal

Peoria: 1-0-2-0-1—4
Hamilton: 1-0-2-0-0—3

Peoria: 7-11-15-2-1—36
Hamilton: 10-5-8-3-0—26

Peoria: Jake Allen (W – 26 shots, 23 saves)
Hamilton: Robert Mayer (L – 35 shots, 32 saves)

Power Play:
Peoria: 1-for-3
Hamilton: 0-for-5

Attendance: 4,176

Three Stars:
1. PEO- Derek Nesbitt (2 goals, 8 shots)
2. HAM- Stefan Chaput (2 goals, +2, 2 shots)
3. PEO- Scott Ford (1 goal, 1 assist, 1 shot)

Dan Lawrie Insurance Premium Player of the Game: Brendan Gallagher


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »